Potty Training – Pee Pee first.

Thanks to you who gave me advice on the whole potty training thing. Mandi suggested putting a tennis ball in the toilet and using that as target practice. Which is extremely good advice because it seems that I was actually focusing on the #2 first, given that I thought he had more control over holding that and it’s far more visibly clear why it needs to be in the toilet.

Tennis ball

I briefed my wife on the concept of putting a tennis ball in the toilet, and she says she remembered her parents putting cheerios in the toilet to train his brother. I’m not sure how I feel about him associating his potty with food, so I think I am going to use my veto power on this one. — Guys have veto power when it comes to male children, or at least that’s going to be the case I plead.

So what should I use ? I think I want something that can be destroyed by the urine stream. I believe that will give him a sense of power in taking a piss like a big boy. I’m gonna have to think about that, I think it’s worth waiting a day to feel confident that what I toss in my toilet is going to work.

Today he actually made a big step in that he actually assumed the position and seemed intent on taking his first piss in the toilet. It was right before his bath, so I figured I always have to pee before a shower. My wife came in and I think he got gun shy, so he abandonded the mission. Sure enough as soon as he was in the tub, he took a leak.

Which makes me wonder why my son has no reaction to fecal matter. When he was about a year and a half old, he had diarrhea and I had to get him to the bathtub. I could barely hold him because I was gagging. I was holding him as far away from my body as I could as he cried. But I wondered later why he wasn’t gagging. It’s like kids are immune to stench. I guess you have to be when 20% of the time you are walking around with a load in your diaper.

One Response to Potty Training – Pee Pee first.

  1. The point when the tyke is occupied with different exercises
    or playing, he may not prefer to head off to the can. Older canines have a
    tendency to be a lot more mature and perhaps better companions,
    the very best good friend that a human would need to have.

    If you see your dog turning in circles or sniffing the ground take
    them to their potty area and repeat the command you have chosen, if they
    use the potty area, praise, praise, and more praise.

Leave a Reply

