Steward and Taylor call Pavlik Overrated

I’ve always respected Emmanuel Steward and he’s probably my favorite analyst when he does commentary on HBO fights because he’s usually spot on. He’s usually not the type to talk badly about a fighter, but in this case he’s actually come out and called Pavlik overrated and is basically saying this fight is going to be simple for Taylor. I’ll say that based on his knowledge of the sport, his comments and my respect for his opinion are the only reason that I would think that Taylor has a chance.

However, Steward himself knows that Taylor has a penchant for not listening to his instructions during a fight, and in turn making fights much closer than they need to be. I’ve even seen Steward in the corner seemingly at wits end with Taylor not listening to him.   I’ve heard Steward make comments about Taylor not listening to him in fights during other HBO broadcasts where he does commentary.

If Taylor listens to Steward, I think that he probably has a far better chance of winning the fight. But, do any of us believe that will happen ?

Steward makes note of Class A fighters that Taylor has been fighting, but we all know he’s looked pretty much lackluster in doing so. I really kind of wish they’d have matched up Corey Spinks with Pavlik first to really pump this fight up even more. I think we all know that Spinks would be pulverised by Pavlik. Then… everyone would realize that calling the Spinks win anything but the crap that it was, would be a ridiculous statement.  Luckily for Steward, that fight never happened so he can try and convince people that Spinks was a Class A opponent and going the distance with him was a victory in anything other than as a statistic.

Forget Mayweather vs Hatton , this here is going to be the fight of the year. Pavlik vs Miranda was a fan’s fight, and Pavlik is going to be considered a premiere fan’s fighter after taking out Taylor.  I will truly be interested in what Steward has to say about Pavlik after the fight. I think it’s possible that Steward might drop Pavlik after this fight if he doesn’t listen.

I also highly doubt that Steward is truly underestimating Pavlik, but I think it’s highly possible that Taylor truly is.

One Response to Steward and Taylor call Pavlik Overrated

  1. Guadalupe says:

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you can be a great
    author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back
    sometime soon. I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

